Home > 50K, Ultramarathon > Running from Santa Cruz, Laguna to Lucban, Quezon

Running from Santa Cruz, Laguna to Lucban, Quezon

I admit, I’m a hard head. Case in point, I have a torn ACL and I’ve ran this years BDM 102 (DNF’d at KM76, if I’m not mistaken). I try to always push myself beyond what I should be doing. No, I’m not a fast runner. I just compete with myself, period.

After my DNF at BDM 102, I have no plans in joining an Ultra-marathon this year. I almost collapsed during a 21K race last May. But as fate would have it, my friend Boo offered me a race kit for the L2Q 50KM Ultra-marathon.

It was sort of my “comeback” ultra run. Thoughts running through my mind, envisioning what I should and what I shouldn’t do during the race. I tell myself to just slow down and enjoy the scenery and not be pulled or tempted to run or sprint.

1015613_539133439479992_890289061_o

with Mar (forefootrunner) at the starting line
(photo by Ceres of Team HOB)

1025708_539133492813320_38970178_o

with my teammates (L-R, Bong, Mar, Rej, Me, Boo, Ronald, Thei)
(Photo by Ceres of Team HOB)

The weather in Sta Cruz Laguna was humid for me, and after covering 7KM  I took my shirt off. My 1st time to run half-naked & it was fun!

As expected, there were a lot of uphills and it really forced me to walk. Buti na lang! There were many times I got tempted to run.

1008399_10151714614683245_591504646_o

With Boo… Uphill yan, di lang halata.. :p
(Photo by Master Cindy)

Surprisingly, I finished the race without any pain. 🙂

Thank you Boo Toledo & Vivian Cerrer-Toledo for the race kit, accommodation & support. Good times with Tatay too! Master Cindz Sevilla, thanks sa support. Iba talaga ang support ng mother hen. hehe! Ang dami nyo natulungan sa route and to think konti lang ang supplies.

Ultramarathon Prince, boy tsinelas!!! Salamat bro sa pagsama sa amin. 23KM in tsinelas! hehehe

Good job sa L2Q organizer! panalo ang ice cream & GU! overflowing food sa aid stations! Roving ambulance na hindi nakaka-nerbiyos!

Congrats sa lahat ng L2Q finishers!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

